Jumping straight into a tournament?

So my local Gaming store has announced a domination day steamroller event in early January and I am seriously contemplating jumping straight into the deep end. I love a challenge and what better way than by timed turns, right???  So far however, there are 2 downsides. Everything has to be painted, and I need to buy more models for a 50pt list. Considering I only have 35pts of models I best start planning the expansion now. At the moment I have 1 35pt list and for this I need a 15, 25, 35 and 50pt list…

So here is my first stab in the dark.

15 pts

pButcher (+6)
Wardog, 1
Juggernaught, 7
Kodiak, 8
Yuri the axe, 3
Manhunter / Marksman, 2

25 pts

pButcher (+6)
Wardog, 1
Juggernaught, 7
Kodiak, 8
Min Kazayay Assasins + UA, 7
Manhunter, 2
Widowmakers, 4
Widowmaker Marksman, 2

35 pts

pButcher (+6)
Wardog, 1
Juggernaught, 7
Kodiak, 8
Marauder, 7
Max Kazayay Assassins + UA, 10
Great Bears, 5
Yuri the axe, 3

50 pts

pButcher (+6)
Wardog, 1
Kodiak, 8
Kodiak, 8
Beast 09, 11
Min Mechaniks, 2
Eiryss, AOR, 3
Great Bears, 5
Max Kazayay Assassins + UA, 10
Manhunter, 2
Widowmakers, 4
Widowmaker Marksman, 2

Any thoughts? I recently asked on PP about expanding my list from 35 to 50 and all people would say is WGI death star. However I want to go something slightly different.

4 responses to “Jumping straight into a tournament?

  1. I actually think the 50 point list would be very good. I also am trying to avoid the WGI deathstar for now (as I think it’s crazy boring).

    • Hoping to get the models over Christmas and give it a try.

      The Jacks can all run for free which will save me focus early doors and I have found (At 35pts at least) that full throttle really comes into its own with 3 Jacks. A Kodiak with an extra focus that gets off his combo strike and then buys an extra attack is so much fun 😀

  2. Tourneys are good for several things.
    -Getting new models!!!
    -Getting what you already got painted. Never underestimate the power of an all painted tourney on your figs backlog.
    -Getting to play very different, if tough, armies.
    -Getting your ass kicked which is the best way to learn Warmahordes.
    -And of course playing like you’ve got a pair!! We’re all violent sneaky bastards in regular games (that’s what it DEMANDS!) so what best way to taste it than in a proper competitive environment.

    Side note: You will notice how Warmahordes players take tourneys in a very different way. More relaxed, chilled, friendlier. The game itself is already a kick in the nuts, so you will see very little (if none) arguments, or stupid people bending rules, or completely utterly silly broken lists. Last tourney here in Buenos Aires was in fact won by a Circle Theme list!!!

    • I have managed to get 200pts of 40k Orks and Blood Angels done for tournament play and the time factor is a great motivator.

      Unfortunately the guy who is running the tournament put the wrong date down and so now it clashes with a blood bowl tournament I am attending. However I have said I would have a new team painted for that so I best get cracking.

Leave a Reply

